Come, Don’t Come

Come,

Let me hold your hand,

I will lead the way.

For the forest is cunning,

And you are already lost.

What harm can some trust cause?

 

You can let go,

When your trust suspects.

 

Maybe we’ll meet some fishermen,

Fishing from the trees –

Looking for some human meat,

Fresh and tax-free.

 

Or we’ll encounter the Olgapas,

With neon underwear,

Who’ll kill us with boredom —

With their plagiarized pulp poetry.

 

Don’t let go –

Alone we are vulnerable,

Together we are brave.

 

 

<– O –>

 

I’ve heard about some chocolate trees,

Growing deep in the forest,

Bearing fruits made of jelly beans,

Having roots made of Wonka hair –

Brown Willy Wonka hair.

 

I am a diabetic.

 

And there is a gym inside –

Inside the puzzling forest –

With strict and grouchy instructors,

Without any girlfriends.

 

My bones are brittle,

My muscles lack protein,

And my flowing grey beard

Makes crunches harder.

 

Why hold my hand?

The city is near,

And you got legs.

 

Paris makes some good caviar,

Do fishes drink water?

Echo!

 

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Come, Don’t Come

  1. Torrun says:

    Well. I must say your works have greatly improved from the last time I read your stuff (but that was like 2 years ago ;D ) I like the flowy lyrical quality of the poem. And if this constitutes a part of your psyche then its gonna be a roller-coaster ride of poetry yet to come from you dear brother.

  2. Torrun says:

    Reblogged this on hangingfromthejoshuatree and commented:
    well this is a poem by my kid cousin brother, he’s turning out to be quite a poet, will be interesting to see where he goes with his poems. What surprises me is that now we have two poets from my immediate family and that is surprising in itself for me 🙂

  3. Swapnil says:

    The secret of good writing is to strip every sentence to its cleanest components.All your creations are very lucide and the spontaneity of it is commendable.

Leave a Reply

